Tuesday, March 28Welcome

Many’s Tackett Curtis Vote for Louisiana’s Mr. Football – Crescent City Sports

Tucket Curtis #4
(Photo: Stephen Lu)

Jimmy Watson
Written for LSWA

Many linebacker Tuckett Curtis, who has already headed to California to start classes at USC January 5, was honored this week by receiving Louisiana Mr. Football, the highest honor bestowed by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association. made history in their hometown.

The 6-foot-3-inch, 220-pound Enforcer becomes the first of many athletes to receive the designation since the LSWA began awarding Mr. Football certification in 1995. and Derek Stingley. He is his second Mr. Football to select USC, joining John Curtis running back Joe McKnight in 2006.

The recent high school graduate, nephew of Many’s coach Jess Curtis and son of principal Moses Curtis, led the Tigers to four consecutive Louisiana High School Athletic Association championships. Winning the Class 2A Title in 2020 at Northwestern University’s Turpin Stadium, just a 25-minute drive from Many. Curtis capped off his illustrious career by winning his Division III non-select title at Caesars Superdome a few weeks ago.

He chose USC last summer after narrowing down more than 40 offers to Ohio State and Wisconsin.

“There was no linebacker in this country that we wanted more than Tuckett Curtis,” USC coach Lincoln Riley said at a signing day press conference. “I think he is the best inside linebacker in the country.

A quarterback, linebacker/safety and kick returner for the Tigers last season, Curtis has 112 tackles this season, including 16 losses, six sacks and three interceptions. He also rushed for 1,115 yards and 11 touchdowns, his highest twice in the state championship game against Union Parish. Titled He MVP of the Game, he was a finalist in the high school Butkus Award, which honors the top linebacker nationally.

“He’s like a little John Rambo and doesn’t show much emotion,” Jess Curtis said. “He’s just doing his job. He doesn’t like the limelight. He likes to play, he likes to play hard, he plays the right way. He was always in the weight room at night, not to promote anything, just to get better.”

Since breaking onto the Sabine Parish football scene as a quiet and rowdy freshman, Curtis has won numerous awards during his prep career, including LSWA 2A Defensive Player of the Year honors and All District 3-2A honors. I’m here. Moses Curtis said that Tucket’s great-grandfather, the late Leonard O’Neill Tucket, had a rough and rowdy past, which may help explain some of Tucket’s ballpark mettle. Told.

“The whole Papaw Tucket family is a bunch of Texas outlaws from Waco,” Moses said. “They grew up hard and became Bonnie and Clyde’s family. That side of the family stuck with Bonnie. They were funny people.”

Papau Tucket was the first in his family to attend and graduate from college. He earned his PhD as a chiropractor and was able to build cars from scratch and fly planes. His great-granddaughter, eponymous hits like Mack Trucks, earned him only one ‘B’ in 12 years of school, and ended up at his one of the top colleges in the country. I plan to complete my degree.

Apparently the apple hasn’t fallen yet.

Agriculture Department Insurance/LSWA Mr. Football
2022: Tucket Curtis, Many
2021: Landry Liddy, Calvary Baptiste
2020: Sage Ryan, Lafayette Christian
2019: Christian Westcott, Lakeshore
2018: Derek Stingley Jr., Dunham School
2017: Anthony “Puka” Williams, Hernville
2016: Ketaon Thompson, Landry-Walker
2015: Lindsey Scott, Zachary
2014: Deshaun Capers-Smith, Warren Easton
2013: Leonard Fournette, St. Augustine
2012: John Diaz, Neville
2011: Landon Collins, Dutchtown
2010: Anthony Johnson, O. Perry Walker
2009: Gavin Webster, Lutcher
2008: Blake Mathern, Belle Chass
2007: Randall Mackie, Bastrop
2006: Joe McKnight, John Curtis
2005: Charles Scott, Jonesboro-Hodge
2004: Ryan Perrylou, East St. John
2003: Chris Markey, Jesuit
2002: Robert Lane, Neville
2001: Jason Miller, Iota
2000: Byron Robertson, St. Thomas Aquinas
1999: Brock Berlin, Evangel
1998: Brady James, West Monroe
1997: Adam McConassy, ​​West Monroe
1996: Travis Minor, Baton Rouge Catholic
1995: Cecil Collins, Leesville

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *