Tuesday, March 21Welcome

Rep. Jake Johnson of Polk County appointed to leadership position at NC House – The Tryon Daily Bulletin

Rep. Jake Johnson of Polk County appointed to leadership position at NC House

Published Wednesday, January 4, 2023 at 1:40 PM

Last week, the North Carolina House of Representatives threw the gavel at the non-voting legislature, hearing the final addresses of outgoing lawmakers and appointing leadership posts. Among them was Representative Jake Johnson, who represented Polk, Henderson, Rutherford and McDowell counties. Johnson has been appointed by his colleagues to serve as vice president of his NC House Republican Caucus from 2023 to his 2024 Congress.

Johnson was first appointed to the House of Representatives in 2019 and was re-elected in 2020 and 2022. He is from Polk County and has previously served as chairman of the committee. In the House, he currently serves as Chairman of the IT Appropriations Committee and Vice Chairman of the Commercial and Appropriations Committee. Johnson has also served on the K-12 Education, Homeland Security, Regulatory Reform, and Wildlife Resources Commissions. At 28, Johnson will be the youngest leader in the North Carolina legislature.

“I would like to thank the voters here in western North Carolina for giving me the confidence to continue to represent them in the General Assembly,” said Representative Johnson. I would also like to thank my colleagues from the bottom of my heart for entrusting me with the role of Vice-Chair of the Vice-Majority during this coming session, a role that is not just a lip service, but a positive one for the people of this state. We look forward to using it as an opportunity to create real results that make an impact.”

In North Carolina, Republicans got a big head start in the polls, despite Republican disappointments in other states across the country. In Raleigh, Republicans will come back with a majority on the Supreme Court and a majority in both Congresses. The Senate has a party-wide majority, while the House wins his 10 seats, which were won by Joe Biden just two years before him.

Submitted by Megan Kluttz

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *