Friday, March 24Welcome

Senate Democratic Caucus announces leadership team

Frankfort, Ky. — The Kentucky Senate Democratic caucus will hold a leadership election this week, with Senator Gerald Neal as House Majority Leader, Senator David Yates as Minority Whip, and Senator Reggie Thomas as caucus speaker. Each was elected for a two-year term.

Two leadership vacancies occurred as Senate Minority Leader Morgan McGarvey ran for three Kentucky seats.rd Minority Rep. Dennis Pallett of the US House of Representatives has retired after serving three terms. Parrett’s seat was filled by Senator Matthew Dennine, who ran unopposed in 2022 as a Republican. A special election will be held on February 21, 2023 to fill McGarvey’s state Senate seat.

Since 1989, Senator Neal has represented parts of Jefferson County as a state senator, making him the longest-serving member of the legislature.

Senator Yates was elected to represent the 37th Party in It is a Kentucky Senate district and includes most of Jefferson County.

Senator Thomas, who has been the Democratic caucus speaker since 2021, has represented parts of Fayette County in Congress since 2014.

The new leadership is expected to take office when the 2023 legislative session of the Kentucky Legislature convenes on Tuesday, January 3, 2023.

Click here for more Kentucky business news.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *