Monday, June 5Welcome

Commission Chairs Seated in Sessions Commencing January | Politics

Chairman seated for the session starting in January

Members of the House Court and Criminal Law Committee will discuss the bill in February. The commission has allocated nearly 70 bills to him for the 2022 session.

Sixteen members of Congress (nine members of the House and seven members of the Senate) will assume new roles, each leading one of the 23 House standing committees and 22 Senate standing committees heading into the 2023 session.

What are committees?

Legislative commissions exist to help legislators identify key issues, gather and assess information, and consider legislation in its early stages before heading to the chamber for greater debate. .

“Commissions are the legislature’s hard workers,” said Andrew Downs, director of the Mike Downes Center for Indiana Political Science and associate professor of political science at Purdue University Fort Wayne.

Basically, all bills are assigned to committees, Downs said, so most of the work on bills usually happens in committees.

It’s good to have the chairman of the committee in charge because it has a big impact on which bills are considered, Downes said, and this is an integral part of the passage of the bill. The chairman is influenced to say that the meeting room leader and his party are the key issues of the session.

According to Downs, 20-30% (depending on the year) of all legislation introduced is actually passed, while 70-80% will be repealed.

“The chair tries to work with other committee members. It’s not like the chair just comes in with a sledgehammer and says, ‘All I want is to hear what I hear.'” I’m just spending time talking to other committee members,” Downs said.

He also said the committee would give legislators a good chance to work with each other and with other members of Congress to pass laws they deem important.

new hard worker

Downes said this year’s chairman’s assignment has seen a significant amount of turnover.

Chamber leaders will be appointed every two years after the November elections, and the roles will remain in effect for the members’ two-year terms.

In a Nov. 18 press release, when Senate Speaker Pro Tempore Rodric Bray, R-Martinsville, announced the next session’s chairman, he said, “Some of the most important work in Congress takes place at the committee level.” said he believed.

“We have a very talented group of Commission Chairs set up for our next session to work with these talented members who will help us develop better policies for the people of Indiana. I look forward to it.”

Here are the new chairs:

  • Senator Aaron Freeman, R-Indianapolis, Chairman of the Corrections and Criminal Law Commission.

  • Senator Rick Niemeyer, R-Lowell, Chair of the Committee on Environmental Affairs.

  • Senator Eric Basler, R-Shelburne, Chair of the Ethics Committee.

  • Senator Scott Baldwin, Republican Noblesville, Chairman of the Insurance and Financial Institutions Committee.

  • Senator Chris Garten, Chairman of the Republican Rules Committee, Republican Charlestown.

Senator Greg Walker (R-Columbus) and Senator Linda Rogers (R-Granger) transitioned to the new Commission. Walker will head the Family and Children’s Services Board, while Rogers will take over the Pensions and Labor Board.

On December 2nd, Speaker of the House Todd Houston (R-Fisher’s) announced the appointment of the chairmen of the House committees.

“We are thrilled with the talent and breadth of experience our chairman will bring to the committee,” Houston said in a press release. I am confident in our team’s ability to scrutinize and pass policies that prioritize

Here are the new chairs:

  • Michael Aylesworth MP, R-Hebron, Chairman of the Agriculture and Rural Development Commission.

  • Congressman Alan Morrison, Republican Brazil, Chairman of the Committee on Environmental Affairs.

  • Rep. Mike Speedy, R-Indianapolis, Chairman of the Financial Institutions Commission.

  • Congressman Chris May, R-Bedford, Chairman of the Local Government Committee.

  • Rep. Shane Lindauer, R-Jasper, Chairman of the Natural Resources Commission.

  • Rep. Ethan Manning, Denver Republican, Chair of the Public Policy Committee.

  • Rep. Karen Ingleman, R-Georgetown, Chair of the Statutory Ethics Committee.

Two members of Congress also replaced the committee. Rep. Martin Carbaugh (R-Fort Wayne) was in charge of the new Insurance Committee, and Rep. Ben Smaltz (R-Gullett) was appointed chairman of the Rules and Legislative Procedures Committee.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *