Friday, June 9Welcome

Political Notes: Inauguration Date, Details on Learman’s Transition, Women in Congress

US Representative Anthony Brown (Democrat) accepted the endorsement of the US Council of State, County and City Officials3 for his campaign for Attorney General at an event in Baltimore. Campaign photo.

It is well known that the inauguration of Governor-elect Wes Moore (Democrat) and Vice Presidential candidate Alna Miller (Democrat) is January 18th. But what about Attorney General-elect Anthony Brown (Democrat) and Comptroller-elect Brooke Lierman (Democrat)?

Brown, who served as a delegate from 1999 to 2007 and was lieutenant governor from 2007 to 2015, will be sworn in on the morning of January 3 on the House floor of the State Capitol. A ceremony is also held. Brown, but details are undecided.

Lierman will take the oath on January 16, but the date and location will be announced. It falls on the national holiday of Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday, so it’s a function of the timetable laid down in the state constitution.In addition to the evening celebration, Lierman planned a service event in the morning. Yes. These details have not yet been finalized.

Lierman revealed more details about her transition efforts on Thursday. She divided her transition team into her six working groups: Procurement and Public Works Board, Tax Administration and Customer Engagement, Data and Innovation, Pensions, Public Engagement, and Local Government Engagement. Each working group has from 2 to her 4 chairs and her 10 or more (in some cases she is well over 12) members.

The workgroup leaders are:

Procurement and Public Works Board: Veronica Cool runs a marketing, management and financial consulting firm. Robert Dashiell, Civil Litigation and Procurement Attorney. Ash Shetty, Chief Procurement Officer for the Montgomery County Government; Eben Smith, a business management consultant;

Tax Administration and Customer Engagement: Sharonne Bonardi, Executive Director of the Federation of Tax Administrators and former Deputy Comptroller. Robin McKinney, co-founder and CEO of the CASH Campaign of Maryland. Richard Madaleno, Chief Administrative Officer of Montgomery County;

Data and Innovation: Former Congressman Andrew Cassilly (R-Harford); Ben Siegel, Principal, Economic Mobility Consultants; Terry Spiner, who runs his IT company in Prince George County; Dipak Thakker runs a software company in Montgomery County.

Pensions: Patrick Moran, President of AFSCME Local 3. Sheila Morgan-Johnson, former executive director of the Retirement Commission for the District of Columbia. Former Republican senator and patent attorney Andrew Serafini.

Public Engagement: Al Delia, Vice Chancellor and Educational Technology Consultant, Frostburg State University. Prince George County Councilman Daniel Glaros (D); Laura Gutierrez, Hispanic Community Services Specialist in the Annapolis Mayor’s Office. Denton City Councilman Donsella Wilson.

Local Government Involvement: Theresa Kuhns, Executive Director of the Municipal League of Maryland. Michael Sanderson, Executive Director of the County Association of Maryland;

“I am thrilled that so many talented Marylanders are willing to contribute their thoughts and ideas on how to ensure that the Office of the Comptroller truly serves all Marylanders. “This is a dynamic team, and I know it will focus on the big ideas that move Maryland forward and the small details that make our government work better.” ”

Shortly after the election, Lierman announced that outgoing Comptroller Peter Franchot (Democrat), Prince George’s County Executive Angela Alsobrooks (Democrat), and state Senator Susan Lee (Democrat) would serve as honorary co-chairs of her transition team. . Former State Treasurer Nancy Kopp (Democrat), Rep. Jocelyn Pena-Melnik (Democrat-Prince George), and Candice Dodson-Reid, Chief of Staff to the University of Maryland Baltimore County President, co-chair the transition team I am serving .

Speaking of Lierman, she spends her holiday shopping Friday morning with Franchot in downtown Baltimore. First at The Peanut Shoppe, an 89-year-old candy shop, then at Viva Books, a year-old new antiquarian bookstore, Franchot has been openly working at local stores in Maryland for many years for her holiday shopping. I went to

Record number of women in state legislatures

According to the Center for American Women and Politics, a record number of women will soon serve in state legislatures, increasing the number of women’s seats to date by at least 69 and bringing overall representation to more than 32 percent. That’s it.

By 2023, the state will have at least 2,376 women in Congress, including women and holdovers elected in 2022. This is an increase in the number of women making state legislation and voting from her current record of 2,307 women set in 2022. This year’s 59 races with female candidates are too close.

Democrats lead with 1,560 members and Republicans with 795. The remaining female legislators either do not belong to a major political party or are independents. Her CAWP, a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Political Studies at Rutgers University in New Jersey, noted that Republican women in Congress made up only 33.5% of her state legislature.

Women have reached parity in some states, but this figure is far from reflective of the country’s population.

Colorado joins Nevada as the only two states with at least half of their legislatures made up of women, according to CAWP’s analysis of this year’s elections.

“Nevada became the first state to reach this milestone after the 2018 election. 60.3% of the Nevada legislature will be women,” CAWP wrote in its summary of state legislative election results.

“The Colorado legislature will also become majority female in 2023, with women occupying 51% of seats in the state legislature,” CAWP wrote.

Women occupy exactly half of the seats in the Arizona and New Hampshire Senate.

Maryland has 45.6% of its legislatures, the fifth highest percentage of women in the nation.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *